HideMyAss Reviews

Visit HideMyAss Website

HideMyAss Review

About HideMyAss

The personal VPN with perhaps the most clever name on the Internet is Hide My Ass!, which lets you protect your identity by changing IP addresses simply by connecting to one of their VPNs. The company is used by hundreds of thousands of people every day to protect their online identities through a range of services, including a web proxy for anonymous surfing, and an advanced VPN encryption system.

Besides offering an impressive collection of security and privacy tools, the HideMyAss! Web site offers a useful and informative user forum. The HideMyAss! Pro VPN service is remarkably easy to use. It encrypts your Internet connection and works with any application or protocol. The service encrypts your Internet traffic anonymously for an extra layer of security, giving you the tools you need to shield yourself from spies, hackers, and anybody else who thinks that snooping on your online activity would be a good idea. It can be used to securely surf the web from a public WiFi spot, and the system has built-in country-switching. The service runs at gigabit server speeds for the best connectivity.

HideMyAss! doesn't stop at the VPN service. Also available is a free proxy for anonymous online surfing, as well as IP:PORT proxies which work with any application that has proxy settings. You can also access free file and image hosting features for easy file sharing, and a free anonymous email service. HideMyAss! also offers a link anonymizer feature which lets you anonymously link to websites, and an anonymous search for hiding your Google search history and search results.

HideMyAss User Reviews

Mian Omer Shah
Reviewer: Mian Omer Shah
Date: 2012-08-05
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Disappointing service. First they cancelled my order then later they asked me to repay again via credit card using google check out. Now when i pay via google check out it says it would take hours to activate the service. I have been charged twice and no service till now. While the email they sent me says possible fraud blah blah blah. Very funny the other day I bought airline tickets worth 4000 USD from same credit card it worked like a charm and this funny company making so much fuss about a 9 dollar vpn service. Strange they cannot sort out their payment systems and improve their customer support.

I doubt there would be any money back as well. Its all a hoax and lies.
Thomas Hiflanger
Reviewer: Thomas Hiflanger
Date: 2012-06-16
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
They will show your ass as soon as look at you. They hide nothing. ARE YOU A MUG?????????????? NEVER USE THESE!!!!!
Jonathan Elano
Reviewer: Jonathan Elano
Date: 2012-05-08
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Thanks for your post - could you discuss how "private browsing" settings for Safari help with privacy? How about dynamic IP - which changes for most people who are not running their own server - correct. Doesn't this help with privacy.

Best UK VPN
James Harden
Reviewer: James Harden
Date: 2012-03-22
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I ordered hidemyass a few days ago and its been great for torrents its like using my own connection to be honest i have a 22/5 internet plan and i max out my speed on private torrents
scott
Reviewer: scott
Date: 2012-02-29
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Servers in other countries are faster then the server that is 40km's from me. Disconnects regularly, revealing your real IP address to the web. So I have canceled my auto renew sub.
Un Loco
Reviewer: Un Loco
Date: 2012-02-20
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
If you are looking for P2P file sharing don't use HMA. Otherwise they are OK.
PIT SAMPRAS
Reviewer: PIT SAMPRAS
Date: 2012-02-17
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I bought one month subscription of this vpn provider and I am quite disappointed,neither openvpn nor L2TP worked for me ,while I have quite good experience with other famous brands with these protocols,support is horrible,and they simply don't like to hear from you.the money back guarantee is not as they say ,and they simply do not answer your requests.I guess that immense number of servers in the world is not an indicator of the quality of service of a provider and it requires a certain amount of technical knowledge which in my opinion this company lacks.overall not recommended
Timamu
Reviewer: Timamu
Date: 2012-02-06
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Nice and clean interface, easy to use. Does the job well for me. Some VPN servers are a little slow but most of them are quite fast.
Stu martin
Reviewer: Stu martin
Date: 2012-02-02
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
HMA is a hit and miss. Customer is so so. Today i tried to login to my hma acct but i cant connect to their website. I can connect to other sites like google, yahoo, etc. So the hma site seems to be having some problems ie; its down.
hulamagula
Reviewer: hulamagula
Date: 2012-01-30
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I subscribed to their basic plan. Seemed overpriced but I've read good reviews. What was my disappointment... After a few days the VPN stopped working and I couldn't get anything from their non-existing support. What's worse my credit card was charged again month later.
Trying to get back the money...
Joaquin
Reviewer: Joaquin
Date: 2012-01-10
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Bad customer support but super service.
I use to download apps from the amazon market place on the kindle fire from outside US.
Christa
Reviewer: Christa
Date: 2011-11-21
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I signed up for this service while I was traveling in Europe so I could log in to my Netflix account to view movies and to access US TV shows online. Your service worked very well. However, now that I am at home again, I no longer need it. I will keep it in mind for future travel and will recommend to friends traveling abroad.
Emilio
Reviewer: Emilio
Date: 2011-11-20
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Ok, their support STINKS, and I mean it stinks. This must be a 1 man show! There was a screw up on my credit card, my credit card company did a charge back on all charges of the day that my credit card was lost, one of them charges included hidemyass. Anyhow - I told my cc company that HMA was ok, so they immediately reversed the charge-back, but HMA refused to allow me in and they disabled my account, saying "because I performed a chargeback to them, my account is permanently disabled and that if I wish I may re-order for another $78.60 for the year." WAIT one min HMA, you already have my money from the reversal the credit card company did!! Anyhow, they refused to re-enable my account. So i called the CC company to file a complaint, they said they will re-issue another chargeback to the, HOWEVER this time there is a $20 charge to me! So I am going with http://www.hide-my-ip.com/ as they are really gaining on HMA.
yoso
Reviewer: yoso
Date: 2011-11-19
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
You vpn works really great and i love with would always do bussiness with you
Chris F
Reviewer: Chris F
Date: 2011-11-05
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Pro VPN is very very slow. Speedtest.net has my downloads coming in at 5-10% of non-vpn speeds.
Matt
Reviewer: Matt
Date: 2011-11-02
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
We tried Hide My Ass for a French VPN because we like to watch French television programs which are blocked in the US. The service was very unreliable so we later found a good German VPN which is actually working great for 4 euros per month. I asked HMA for a refund starting the first week. What a joke! One excuse after another all for $11! I asked 5 times for a refund and each time they gave me a different excuse. It was almost comical. Finally I just told them to keep the $11. and buy themselves a couple of drinks. Really a pathetic unethical company. I would have considered them for vpns for other countries but not now. Run from these guys.
Liam D
Reviewer: Liam D
Date: 2011-10-23
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
HMA was working great for about a month, and then it just shut off. I emailed them asking about the service and got a response to the effect that they were aware of the problem, their servers were down, and they hoped to get them up and running shortly. That was four days ago, and it's still not up and running. And I paid for this service a year in advance ... they might have screwed me out of my subscription fee.

Andy
Reviewer: Andy
Date: 2011-10-12
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I think the support from HMA is very good, they tried to help you work through the issues. For some reason, both my Apple and Windows system had lots of problems from Asia. I just couldn't hook up consistently with there servers in the states. I think if they could get that reliability issue up it would be an awesome product. As I said in my first line, they have a great support center. They provided my funds back so they stand behind the product.
lolatyourass
Reviewer: lolatyourass
Date: 2011-10-11
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
hidemyass = shopyourass - no warrant required. Downloaded music... no problem these guys will shop you on request.
Curt R.
Reviewer: Curt R.
Date: 2011-10-05
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I'm a little new to vpn use but I have no shortage of business knowledge. I contracted HMA's service to procure a secure connection to my USA based services while I travel abroad. I accessed my Paypal account using HMA's service with the result that Paypal found that to be suspicious and place my account on "limited" status until i verified it. Of course HMA's email warning not to use HMA to connect to Paypal came AFTER I had already attempted it and even though I verified my Paypal account within two days, there was a "charge back" to HMA without my knowledge.

HMA said there was a dispute placed on the order. I did not dispute it and in trying to rectify the situation (I was perfectly willing to use any other method of payment HMA would like), HMA said I would no longer be welcome to contract their services.

There are a million other VPN services out there that actually want my business and I am more than happy to give my business to someone else.
Do Not Trust these People
Reviewer: Do Not Trust these People
Date: 2011-10-03
Website:
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
this UK company do keep server logs, and upon request have just released them to the united states, i believe it was to so with lulzsec hackers using their service, the point being, this company cannot ensure your anonimity, or more importantly, your privacy. Therefore, what is the advantage of using them over your normal internet access?

Editor's note: please read this blog post => http://blog.hidemyass.com/2011/09/23/lulzsec-fiasco/
Ben Vernanki
Reviewer: Ben Vernanki
Date: 2011-09-24
Website:
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
According to HideMyAss.com, “…services such as ours do not exist to hide people from illegal activity. We will cooperate with law enforcement agencies if it has become evident that your account has been used for illegal activities.”

The service stores logs for 30-days when it comes to Website proxy services, and they store the connecting IP address, as well as time stamps for those using the VPN offerings. Emails seeking comment on HideMyAss.com’s level of cooperation with the FBI, as well as to confirm what information was made available, were not returned.
Pamela Te
Reviewer: Pamela Te
Date: 2011-08-11
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I used hide my ass for 3 months and I didn't have any problems.I was on a month to month subscription. I suddenly couldn't use it one day before the subscription expired. I went to renew it the usual way, from my dashboard, and it wouldn't let me connect to the website due to DNS error. I sent emails and talked to chat reps but they couldn't fix it. Of course my subscription expired the next day because I couldn't renew my subscription. Then they keep saying I can't use the service because it was expired. No one seemed to understand it wasn't working before the expiry and I needed assurance it will work before paying again. I was called impolite by one customer rep and told by another that i got what i paid for "fair and square." Service is good but beware when you actually have problems. They put the blame on you. I guess they have too many customers they don't worry about losing one. I really liked the service, just didnt get any support when I needed help.
Matt K
Reviewer: Matt K
Date: 2011-08-04
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I've been using HMA for about one week now and it's been absolutely fantastic. The speeds are good and it does exactly what it is advertised to do! Now I can even watch Netflix from the UK!
James
Reviewer: James
Date: 2011-08-02
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Hide my ass is the best vpn service out there. I have been using it to download torrents and watch hulu from the UK for quite some time now and it's simply awesome. Great choice of servers to choose from and most of them are really fast.
Salim
Reviewer: Salim
Date: 2011-07-25
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
It is the first time I use a VPN and I really like HMA so far. A friend of mine recommended it to me and I'm really impressed by all the features and the ease of use.
John Georgievski
Reviewer: John Georgievski
Date: 2011-07-19
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Good Luck getting tech support from them. Their forums don't even work right!

Had to reinstall everytime I wanted to use the software. Their 2 hours estimate for responding to a problem turned into "never" and they don't respond to life chat messages.
John D.
Reviewer: John D.
Date: 2011-07-12
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Although not the cheapest service it is defiantly one of the best i have ever come across. There is a huge choice of countries and speeds that simply cannot be matched by other providers. I had a problem where the software crashed a few times but that was not a huge problem as the connection never dropped. I cannot recommend HMA enough.
Erin H.
Reviewer: Erin H.
Date: 2011-06-20
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Love it. Been living abroad for 3 years (Cayman Islands) and can finally watch 'normal' television :) I probably would have needed support as I couldn't work out how to connect to start with, but i live with a geek so he sorted it. can't believe it took me this long to sign up though to one of these. shows my level of intelligence I spose.... :o)
saurabh
Reviewer: saurabh
Date: 2011-06-01
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
nice website for those people who r not willing to use such block site .with nice speed
Jason
Reviewer: Jason
Date: 2011-05-25
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
So far I have tried a few VPN providers and Hide my ass is the best of them. They have many VPN servers all around the world and most of them are really fast.
Chris U.
Reviewer: Chris U.
Date: 2011-05-02
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I'm totally satisfied with hidemyass so far and have absolutely nothing to complain about (except for the lack of a dedicated Android app that would make it easier for me to connect while on the go).

Aside from a very pleasantly easy to use software, the customer support offered by the hide my staff is also top notch and very knowledgeable. I strongly recommend hide my ass to anyone seeking a reliable and convenient vpn solution.
Bob I.
Reviewer: Bob I.
Date: 2011-04-18
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Your product is very nice and easy to use/acess. The software and support should improve to encourage more customers. This way it has to affect the price and there should also be an increase in speed. Though from my review the work you have done so far is good. I wish you can keep it up. Thank you
Benjamin O.
Reviewer: Benjamin O.
Date: 2011-03-30
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
HMA is a great solution if you are concerned with your identify. Additionally it is fast and easy to use, with it you can forget about IP-based restrictions. A sound investment compare to other software applications offering ip hiding. Cheers.
Stephane
Reviewer: Stephane
Date: 2011-03-28
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I have been using Hide My Ass vpn mostly to protect my connection when I'm staying at the hotel and so far it's awesome. The HMA Pro VPN software is very easy to install and use. They also got tons of servers to choose from. I highly recommend them to anyone.
T. Mangan
Reviewer: T. Mangan
Date: 2011-03-25
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Fast servers, great software.
Steve Chalmers
Reviewer: Steve Chalmers
Date: 2011-02-17
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
I use HideMyAss to watch Hulu from outside of the U.S and it's very fast.
Qualkak B.
Reviewer: Qualkak B.
Date: 2011-02-16
Support Rating
Speed Rating
Ease of Use Rating
Overall Rating
Linux was a little tough to get started with, but I've used the Windows and Mac versions also. Much easier to use, and much cleaner.